B.C. Askins

The Man With the Golden Gun

The Humility of Christ

“And (Jesus) came out and went, as was his custom, to the Mount of Olives, and the disciples followed him. And when he came to the place, he said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” And there appeared to him an angel from heaven, strengthening him.” (Luke 22:39-43 ESV)

It’s easy to breeze right past verse 43 in this narrative: “And there appeared to him an angel from heaven, strengthening him.” The Creator of all things needs one of his creations to come and strengthen him, because he is so weakened before the task of bearing all my sin, absorbing the wrath of His Father in my behalf, on behalf of the world.

He subjected himself to so much because I am bitter with my wife for not reading my mood or I lied because it seemed “easier” than telling the truth or I’m proud. I know what it is to be tempted ever so slightly, then to fail. I also know what it is to resist temptation by the power of the Holy Spirit. However, I don’t know what it is to resist temptation to the point that I need to be directly strengthened by the presence of an angel. This is how humble Christ is. He suffered incomparably.

He knew the fury he would endure as he was forsaken by the Father – for my sake. He subjected himself to so much. Of the countless number of people we will meet in heaven, only one has ever been forsaken – Jesus Christ. And it was for your sake. And he will never leave you nor forsake you, if you trust in him.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

