B.C. Askins

The Man With the Golden Gun

WOD Recap: Anti-Hero Times

Design Diversion 05 January 2009

The Punisher: Classic Anti-hero

So I’ve been out of town the last few weeks and unable to post. Here’s a little recap of how things have been going:

I took almost a full week off from PT April 8-14 because I was attending the Together for the Gospel conference. It was possibly the most impactful conference I’ve ever attended. I’d recommend listening to any/all of the messages; however, Ligon Duncan’s sermon hit me directly between the eyes and I expect to re-visit it many times in the years to come. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

The following week I had to travel for work and had planned some pretty intense workouts, but after a week of restaurants and PT-lessness I wound up getting in more excuses than exercises. On Monday I attempted the Hero WOD “Badger”:

Complete three rounds for time of:
95 pound Squat clean, 30 reps
30 Pull-ups
Run 800 meter

But I had to scale it 30-20-10 each round because I was weak. Even with the scaling I finished in a pathetic 40-ish minutes. I remember thinking that if I had been caught in a life-or-death struggle that morning, I would likely now be “less than alive.” So I berated myself mentally for a few days for that. In the meanwhile I was up late every night and up early every morning writing an exegetical paper on 1 Peter 3:13-17 for class. It’s my first attempt at a full-blown exegetical paper, so it required an awful lot of attention; I wrote the first three pages in about four-and-a-half hours. I’ll probably post it up here in a few days, if I get a chance.

So I didn’t hit the gym again until Thursday morning, 0500. I was still feeling weak and slow, but decided to try the classic “300” workout:

300 (film)

300 (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Pullups – 25 reps
Barbell Deadlift with 135 lbs. – 50 reps
Pushups – 50 reps
24-inch Box Jumps – 50 reps
Floor Wipers – 50 reps (sometimes I substitute GHD situps to hit the core harder)
Single-Arm Clean-and-Press with 36 lbs Kettlebell – 50 reps
Pullups – 25 reps

And I surprised myself by hitting a PR (Personal Record) at just over 17 min. (old PR was around 21 min.). I was pretty excited when I hit the stopwatch, especially since I’ve gained 15-20 lbs since my last attempt at 300. Then I was not so excited when I found myself dry heaving in the shower and spending an extended time on the throne (I don’t remember eating a raw porcupine smothered in jalapenos – but this Paleo diet can be pretty crazy sometimes).

It just reminded me of how truly amazing and almost paradoxical the human body is – so resilient at times and simultaneously so fragile. Maybe some people feel invincible after a PR; I was struck by my own mortality and grateful to God for sustaining a sinner like me for one more day.

The next week I was on active duty for some post-mobilization training and got to do PT with some buddies from my recent tour in Iraq. I was glad for the extra motivation they brought, helping me push when I wanted to slack off. As an NCO, it’s my job to set the standard – but it’s also the expectations of my Soldiers that helps me to be a better leader.

So we started the week with “Forrest”:

Three rounds for time of:
20 L-pull-ups (we substituted kipping pullups)
30 Toes to bar
40 Burpees
Run 800 meters

SPC Ray came in a minute or so ahead of me on this one, at about 51 min. – however, we started the WOD with six participants and only three survived to the end. It probably didn’t help that half of our 800m run was completely uphill, ha ha. We drank a protein shake for our “fallen comrades.”

Two evenings later I PR’d with a 440lb. deadlift (my grip gave out on 450). I was feeling so good after that, I decided the next day’s WOD would be “Double Murph“… That’s right – DOUBLE:

With a 20lb weight vest, for time:
1 mile Run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Squats
1 mile Run
Your reward for completing that is doing it all over again. Took me a little over 2:30 (that’s hours).

Photo Illustration commemorating the Medal of ...

Photo Illustration commemorating the Medal of Honor presented posthumously to Lt. Michael P. Murphy (SEAL). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My compatriots all completed one Murph and called it a day. One of my goals this year is to accomplish a Triple Murph – but I think I need to severely reduce my Murph time before that would be a non-injurious endeavor. Anyway, I was pretty sore for the next few days, so I just did some light exercises to try to move the lactic acid along.

Today I just did a few sets of some complex heavy lifts: clean and jerks, high pulls, deadlift, back squat, dumbbell bench, pullups, weighted chin-ups, tricep presses, 110lb farmers walk and 50 GHD situps to ensure total body annihilation.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “WOD Recap: Anti-Hero Times

  1. Pingback: Overtraining « B.C. Askins

  2. Pingback: Confession | B.C. Askins

Leave a Reply

