B.C. Askins

The Man With the Golden Gun

New Feature: Workout of the Day (WOD)

User:Extremepullup performing a muscle-up - a ...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve decided to add a new feature to the blog: a Workout Of the Day (WOD). This will be familiar to all the Crossfit-types out there. My Soldiers know I’m a PT nut, so I’m basically just going to document the workouts I do (or attempt) and invite you to join me and post your times or scores (or whatever) in the comments, if you want. I’ll probably share some motivational quotes and junk like that along the way too. Happy training!

Today’s WOD:

Muscle-up Progression

Alternate weighted pullups (dead-hang) and bar dips (deep) with 45#, 35#, 25# and 0#. Do the dips immediately after the pullups and get 30 seconds rest between each combination. Do some core, then run for 30+ minutes. (I prefer trail running.) For core, I did Mason twists with a 25# KB to failure 3 times, then Static Flags to failure 3 times, some reps to failure on the ab wheel once and 50 Toes-To-Bars.

A relatively light day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

